Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.

TOPIC:

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53446

  • RichB
  • RichB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Thank you received: 8
SHD dropouts using Roon Bridge with sources greater than 44.1 kHz

The SHD has occasional pops when streaming via LAN (gig) via the Roon Bridge.

This first became apparent because the SHD does not accept DSD DOP.

DSD is converted to LPCM at 385.2 kHz and then down-sampled to 176.4 kHz.

This is causing issues on my SHD with 1.15 firmware 1.21 and Volumio 1.073.

I setup a test with Roon with these sources:
The DietPi (RPI3) is connected to the SHD USB in.
The LAN (gig) is connected and the SHD Roon Bridge (ALSA) is installed.

Roon Group zones for both are linked for simultaneous output.
The SHD plugin is set to default settings with no PEQ or other adjustments and all but the LAN and USB are disabled.
This allows the remote to be used to instantaneously switch between LAN (Roon Bridge) and USB (RPI3 Roon Bridge).

The DietPi/USB has no issues and the SHD Roon Bridge has pops.
The two sources do not sound the same, the SHD Roon Bridge sounds a bit congested and pops.

- Rich

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by RichB.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53508

  • notman
  • notman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 30

I have a new SHD that came with Volumio 1.073 Registered Dec 16, 10:24 CCT 2020.

My SHD does not power the USB Host (Type A) connection when in standby.
@Sonnie and I have been trying to figure out why my SHD works differently than others.

Since I am not a developer, I use Roon Bridge and am having trouble playing DSD converted to PCM there are short dropouts and Pops. I can also get these when Max power of 2 Sample Rate Conversion.

A Raspberry PI3 running Roon Bridge (DietPi) does not have dropouts playing DSD or Max power of 2 (192kHz).

- Rich


This is nuts. There are two new Volumio builds floating around out there and shipping on some units but not available as an update, and no public word from miniDSP? And these builds (or possibility of quiet hardware revisions) may have an affect on the standby behavior?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53510

  • RichB
  • RichB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Thank you received: 8

I have a new SHD that came with Volumio 1.073 Registered Dec 16, 10:24 CCT 2020.

My SHD does not power the USB Host (Type A) connection when in standby.
@Sonnie and I have been trying to figure out why my SHD works differently than others.

Since I am not a developer, I use Roon Bridge and am having trouble playing DSD converted to PCM there are short dropouts and Pops. I can also get these when Max power of 2 Sample Rate Conversion.

A Raspberry PI3 running Roon Bridge (DietPi) does not have dropouts playing DSD or Max power of 2 (192kHz).

- Rich


This is nuts. There are two new Volumio builds floating around out there and shipping on some units but not available as an update, and no public word from miniDSP? And these builds (or possibility of quiet hardware revisions) may have an affect on the standby behavior?


USB Host power off in standby may be do to a hardware change. That also explains the different Volumio software base.

- Rich

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53515

  • Sonnie
  • Sonnie's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 4
I have verified with support that they have a new hardware build that they are shipping now that does not have 5-volt USB power when in standby. It also ships with the 1.073 version of Volumio. Updating Volumio will not change the hardware status. I just ordered a second unit so that I would have the updated hardware.

I don't know the complexity of the unit, but it seems like there would be some way to shut down the 5-volt USB power when in standby via a software change. However, there may not be with this unit. And it won't help everyone, as some amps need more than 5 volts to power on.

BobWire DAT1 is available on Amazon and can be used to power on amps, although you'll also need a Coax to Optical converter from the SHD to the DAT1.

Regards,
Sonnie
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ultrasonic

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53517

  • notman
  • notman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 30

I have verified with support that they have a new hardware build that they are shipping now that does not have 5-volt USB power when in standby. It also ships with the 1.073 version of Volumio. Updating Volumio will not change the hardware status. I just ordered a second unit so that I would have the updated hardware.

I don't know the complexity of the unit, but it seems like there would be some way to shut down the 5-volt USB power when in standby via a software change. However, there may not be with this unit. And it won't help everyone, as some amps need more than 5 volts to power on.

BobWire DAT1 is available on Amazon and can be used to power on amps, although you'll also need a Coax to Optical converter from the SHD to the DAT1.

Regards,
Sonnie


Well, that drives me nuts (as anyone reading my past few posts can gather).

5V would be fine since a step-up/converter to 12V is easy and cheap since amperage doesn't really matter.

Using the DAT1 as a proper 12V trigger (i.e. not an audio signal trigger) requires the digital coax out to also completely turn off, which it doesn't in older units, just like the USB host.

Can someone with one of these newer units where USB host turns off at standby confirm whether the digital coax output also turns off at standby? If you have a DAC that indicates a clock lock without a signal playing, see what happens and report back please.
The following user(s) said Thank You: RichB

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by notman.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53522

  • Stouthart
  • Stouthart's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Thank you received: 2
Before I bought my SHD Studio 2 months ago, I spent some searching for pictures of the circuit board. Seems there are at least 3 different versions, Ver 2.1 dated Dec 04, 2019 apparently being the latest. This is the version I have and that is also the one being used in the recently released SHD Power.

My Studio does not just shut down the 5 volt USB power in standby, it completely cuts off power to the Neo board that runs Volumio. I can confirm that it also turns of the AES output (my active speakers flag that).
The following user(s) said Thank You: entripy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53530

  • RichB
  • RichB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Thank you received: 8
That is interesting.
Here are the EU guidelines:
ec.europa.eu/info/energy-climate-change-...networked-standby_en

EU standby is 0.5 watts and network standby can be 3 to 12 watts.
When measured with a Kill-A-Watt, the SHD (latest version) is using 12 to 13 watts on 0 in standby. This device is not that accurate but it seems to be within a watt.

DietPi on a RPI3 keeps the SDCard updated to avoid issues from power down. Volumio may be the same way or PowerOff may be delayed a bit to allow the Volumio/Linux to cleanly shutdown.

It makes sense to support an energy efficient power off and network standby to IP control but I am not sure if that is available on SHD products. Given, the choice, I prefer the new full power-off that permits the USB host to trigger my Benchmark amp.

- Rich

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53531

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1454
  • Thank you received: 269
Sadly it seems from @Sonnie's info. that on older SHDs it won't be possible for older SHDs to achieve the lower standby power consumption achieved by removing power for USB and possibly other outputs :( . I'm not personally interested in using one as a trigger but saving pointless energy use would be good.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ultrasonic.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53543

  • tfischer
  • tfischer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 17
  • Thank you received: 4
The download link for 1.076 is below. However, if this is not yet "officially" supported, install at your own risk :)

updates.volumio.org/nanopineo2/minidspsh...7-nanopineo2.img.zip
Tomas

miniDSP SHD -> XLR -> Benchmark AHB2 -> NL2 SpeakON -> SVS Prime Pinnacles
Dual SVS SB2000 PRO Subwoofers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53548

  • RichB
  • RichB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Thank you received: 8

The download link for 1.076 is below. However, if this is not yet "officially" supported, install at your own risk :)

updates.volumio.org/nanopineo2/minidspsh...7-nanopineo2.img.zip


Is there an easy way to update or do I need a screwdriver and BalenaEtcher?

- Rich

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53549

  • tfischer
  • tfischer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 17
  • Thank you received: 4
Unfortunately the screwdriver...
Tomas

miniDSP SHD -> XLR -> Benchmark AHB2 -> NL2 SpeakON -> SVS Prime Pinnacles
Dual SVS SB2000 PRO Subwoofers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53551

  • lmerino
  • lmerino's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 3
I was just wondering if any install/version of volumio could be loaded on the micro SD card and work in the SHD. If anyone tries, let us know.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53557

  • Stouthart
  • Stouthart's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Thank you received: 2
Works fine. 1.076 - and probably 1.073 as well - has an updated UI and seems to be using new Qobuz implementation.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53559

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 1454
  • Thank you received: 269

I was just wondering if any install/version of volumio could be loaded on the micro SD card and work in the SHD. If anyone tries, let us know.

Thanks


Note that general Volumio installs don't provide Qobuz and Tidal access without a paid Volumio subscription. There may well be other compatibility issues too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How to update Volumio to 1.073 7 months 3 weeks ago #53560

  • Stouthart
  • Stouthart's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Thank you received: 2
No issues with Qobuz

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: devteam