Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.

TOPIC:

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47668

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Sorry, I forgot the first step: Install squeezelite plugin.
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47686

  • EdHowarth
  • EdHowarth's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Thank you received: 15
Can I ask a quick question of the people on here who seem to have a deep understanding of LMS and SHD. ? Currently I have a Squeezebox feeding digital into my SHD. All my files are on a PC (in another room) and that runs LMS. I want to keep the PC arrangement - music is edited on there and backups automated there.
I've looked at Volumio and can't get on with it, I prefer Klarita Muso which runs on a laptop and controls LMS. What is involved in getting rid of the Squeezebox and using the SHD as a Squeezebox-like player? Do I just install Squeezelite? Can it see files on the local network or does it need a usb hard disk?
Many thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47687

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Just follow the steps in the two post before yours. That's how I installed squeezelite and use a different server. I don't use the shd as lms server. Maybe you try it directly with the plugin, if that doesn't work, try the next steps. You have to use the lan input instead of USB.
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by chrissy.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47690

  • EdHowarth
  • EdHowarth's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Thank you received: 15
Cheers Chrissy. And presume it'll connect to the network via the wifi dongle?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47716

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Should work, but I prefer wired connections. Never tried wifi.
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47717

  • EdHowarth
  • EdHowarth's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Thank you received: 15
Thanks chrissy. Done first step of installing plugin, but player not visible. I've asked minidsp for credentials to allow SSH.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47718

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
So the maintainer of the plugin doesn't read hear and Michelangelo didn't include the libwiringpi into shd volumio.. too bad, but the guys are pretty fast, you should have the credentials in a short time.
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47722

  • comfortably_numb
  • comfortably_numb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 1

Can I ask a quick question of the people on here who seem to have a deep understanding of LMS and SHD. ? Currently I have a Squeezebox feeding digital into my SHD. All my files are on a PC (in another room) and that runs LMS. I want to keep the PC arrangement - music is edited on there and backups automated there.
I've looked at Volumio and can't get on with it, I prefer Klarita Muso which runs on a laptop and controls LMS. What is involved in getting rid of the Squeezebox and using the SHD as a Squeezebox-like player? Do I just install Squeezelite? Can it see files on the local network or does it need a usb hard disk?
Many thanks in advance.


I managed to install LMS on the SHD itself (ie SHD running as LMS server). Hard-drive connected straight into my router via USB and wired ethernet from router to SHD.
I didnt need to SSH into the SHD. Here are the steps:

Running Volumio 1.0.5.2 on the SHD. You'll need to install LMS plugin + Squeezelite Plugin.
Launch LMS by opening volumio -> plugins -> installed plugins -> Logitech Media Server -> Settings (make sure both LMS andSqueezelite player is active).
In LMS go to -> Settings (lower right corner) -> Plugins tab -> and install "Local Player" plugin.
Then go back to the plugin tab, find the "Local Player" plugin, click on 'settings' on th right.
Make sure first check box is clicked and, and under "select binary" choose 'squeezelite-armv5te' (at least this what mine is set to).
You may have to reboot the SHD/Volumio once or twice for everything to work.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Juoigâ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47724

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Hi,

sorry, I wouldn't do it that way. Since the squeezelite plugin dosen't work, you only use the squeezelite that comes with the local player plugin of lms, so you don't have to install the volumio plugin of squeezelite. If you want to run only squeezelite, you have to do it via ssh!

I also woulddn't run lms on the shd, it has to be turned on 365/24 and the processor ist too weak to run LMS scans in decent response times. The OP has lms running on a different machine, so the proposed way will give the results he wants.

Greets
Christian
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp
The following user(s) said Thank You: EdHowarth

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 7 months ago #47737

  • EdHowarth
  • EdHowarth's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Thank you received: 15
Thanks for the great detailed advice. I received the SSH credentials in a couple of days from minidsp. Very happy with the speed of their reply. Had to enable SSH on the SHD by going into the /dev page using my browser. Then everything went smoothly until I tried moving the squeezelite binary. I didn't have permission, but a quick sudo did the trick.
All working great now, and very happy.
Thanks Chrissy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 6 months ago #48531

  • Juoigâ
  • Juoigâ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 236
  • Thank you received: 44
hooking onto this topic...

I have the following setup: I have an USB SSD HD attached to the SHD, and have the LMS plugin running. In LMS I have used the plugin uPnP bridge to play to the SHD. works fine. can also use my Oppo as player.

there is one thing I noticed since the update where you can control volume and inputs also from Volumio: the volume of the player in LMS gets reset to 100% I have a low gain amp, so no damage to speakers yet, but annoying it is. Does anyone else have a similar experience?

Using the squeezelite plugin also works, the only small thing is that it will show up as "squeezelite" in squeezecommander, and not as "SHD-Woonkamer"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 6 months ago #48535

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Hi Juoiga,

Just add -n your_squeezeboxname in the extra parameters section of the squeezelite plugin Settings Page. See the pic attached to this post :

www.minidsp.com/forum/shd-series/17077-s...r?limitstart=0#47632

Greets
Christian
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp
The following user(s) said Thank You: Juoigâ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 6 months ago #48541

  • Juoigâ
  • Juoigâ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 236
  • Thank you received: 44

Just add -n your_squeezeboxname in the extra parameters section of the squeezelite plugin Settings

Thanks.

For completeness: this can also be done from the settings for the LocalPlayer plugin in LMS.
so without ssh-ing into the SHD :silly:

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 6 months ago #48543

  • chrissy
  • chrissy's Avatar
  • Away
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Posts: 107
  • Thank you received: 32
Hi,
As I wrote before, I wouldn't use the shd as a lms server. It's simply too slow for a larger collection. If you only install the squeezelite plugin, you need ssh. Once installed, the settings can be done via the web interface on the plugins settings page without ssh.
Greets
Christian

PS: I use a raspberry 4 as lms server with a 4 tb usb disk. This system is really fast.
SHD as Preamp, Squeezelite player and roomcorrection.
Nubert nuVero 60, 2x Elac 2070 Sub, XTZ EDGE A2-300 power amp. Acoustic solid Machine record player, SME 4 Tonearm, Nagaoka MP 500 cartridge,
FI Micro iPhono2 phono preamp, HiFiMan HE1000 SE, Phonitor X phone amp

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by chrissy.

SHD and Logitech Media Server 1 year 6 months ago #48545

  • Juoigâ
  • Juoigâ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 236
  • Thank you received: 44

Ok,
Here is a step by step explanation how to get a working squeezelite on shd:
1. Download this: sourceforge.net/projects/lmsclients/file...v6hf.tar.gz/download

Don't use a newer version, since it will not work.

.......

I don't see that version anymore there
sourceforge.net/projects/lmsclients/files/squeezelite/linux/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: devteam