Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC:

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16189

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
I just received my nanoAVR with Dirac Live today. Is it okay to keep it plugged-in(turned on) all the time, or should I unplug it when I'm not using it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16202

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8883
  • Thank you received: 1260
Hi,

Great to hear you got your new toy.. :-)
Yes, it's indeed very low iddle current and designed as such to be on at all times.

DevTeam
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16204

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Matt, tell us how you like it. :->

I'm thinking of getting one dependent on how well it's working. :-)

Btw, dev team, it would be great to use the same unit with either Dirac or your normal nanoavr plug-in dependent on our needs. :-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16207

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
So far I am loving it!!! It's pretty amazing what Dirac can do. I have noticed something unusual, but it may just be the way the nanoAVR normally functions. I have a 7.1 speaker configuration. My nanoAVR is in between my sony blu-Ray player and outlaw model 975 surround sound processor (ssp). With the nanoAVR in the chain it is CONSTANTLY outputting PCM 7.1 to my ssp even though my ssp is outputting the correct number of channels (2.0, 5.1, 7.1 etc.). Sound comes out only when a source is playing which is normal. But even when a source is not playing my ssp is still showing that it's receiving a PCM 7.1 signal. This is fine except with 2.0 and 5.1 signals I cannot add any post processing such as Dolby pl IIx, because my ssp is seeing 7.1.

Development Team, is this normal behavior for the nanoAVR DL?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by matty1137. Reason: I left out important information.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16209

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
The desktop version works the same way and it's a little annoying since you need to configure profiles for 2.0, 5.1 and 7.1. It takes up 3 slots by default. Guys, can you work something out with dirac? :D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16210

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
I feel better knowing that is how the desktop version works also. So, I would have to run the Dirac measurements again but this time choosing my speaker layout as 2.0 and then 5.1? I would then save each configuration in it's own slot, and then choose the 5.1 config for 5.1 sources and 2.0 config for 2.0 sources?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16214

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Yes, that's correct. It's not ideal but a good workaround. Again, desktop version works the same. I think we should start raising this on the dirac forums also to let them know we'd at least like the option, thanks! :P

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16220

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
Agreed!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by matty1137. Reason: clarification

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16234

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8883
  • Thank you received: 1260
@ Matty1137,

Great to hear that you're already up and running! We look forward to hearing more of your feedback. Here are some comments:
- 7.1 forced output. You're indeed correct that it's something that the nanoAVR is doing. Mainly to allow some of you to "upmix" content internally. i.e. derive some phantom channels that are not part of the content using matrixing. Now that's something that I believe we could disable (i.e. as an option). Let us talk to the engineer to see what's required here.
- Dirac deals with each speaker separately so don't think it would be an issue to do what you're asking here.

@ J19801110 (nice user name btw... ;-)
Sure, you can indeed load the miniDSP plug-in or Dirac. It's all possible. We're now putting together the tools to "program" a nanoAVR HD to become a nanoAVR DL. A bit of work behind the scenes since it needs licensing key but will hopefully come out soon. Thanks for your patience.

DevTeam
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16237

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
DevTeam,

Thanks so much for the quick reply. Yes, indeed, I am having so much fun with my new nanoAVR DL so far! It's an amazing product. This has been my first experience with miniDSP, and I am extremely pleased. And actually, now that I think about it, having forced 7.1 output is probably the best way to go. Let's just leave things the way they are.
The following user(s) said Thank You: devteam

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by matty1137. Reason: clarification

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16244

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi devteam,

I don't think there is any matrixing going on in the nanoavr itself. If you force 7.1 output and we only feed it 5.1, it will have two channels that are empty AND our receivers won't allow us to do upmixing using a by matrixing since it thinks the extra channels are already there. At least that's what's been frustrating with Dirac Live for me. Please let me know if the nanoavr works differently but I doubt it.

Thanks,
RJ

Ps. Ah that name stuck with me from my first email address. Family initial plus birthdate. :D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16247

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8883
  • Thank you received: 1260
@ Matty1137,

Thanks again for the update and we're certainly glad to hear you're having fun. New add on of the week, we've just released the Android APP for control of your platform from your phone/tablet.. :-) It's free for download from here: play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.minidsp.minidsp

@ RJ,
We see your point and there is indeed a Matrix mixer, just not seen to all.. ;-) You're right that this behavior is actually carried over from the nanoAVR HD (same hardware/firmware). As mentioned above, we can see in the future to change that behavior in the HDMI configuration. Best would be a toggle button to say if you want to force output or not. Thanks for feedback.

DevTeam
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16254

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi devteam,

REALLY? :O you guys are doing proper upmixing like dolby pro logic? That would be very cool if that's true. What algorithm are you using? In any case it is good to have the choice. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16255

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Oh I just had a look. It's a simple channel routing that on,y includes "addition" but no "subtraction" of channels. It would allow copying surround channels to the back surrounds and I guess some simple up mixing of stereo signals. It cannot do steering like dolby pro logic tho. :) ah well. Yes please give us the option to turn it off, thx. :D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 6 years 8 months ago #16358

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
Devteam, how is the matrix up mixer configured on the dl? There is nothing in the manual about it. Are you sure it's operating on the dl and if so, how?

THX

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Moderators: devteam