Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Flex 8 mute clicking 3 weeks 27 minutes ago #61843

  • mikealanlee
  • mikealanlee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 2
Hello,
I was wondering if this was normal behavior with the flex 8 unit.  If the unit is muted or the source signal is muted/OFF then there is a click on the DAC outputs.  This is really annoying to hear.  If possible can this be fixed with a software or firmware update?  Happens with USB or Toslink input.
Thanks,
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 2 weeks 5 days ago #61870

  • mikealanlee
  • mikealanlee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi All,
The new firmware seemed to work for me.  The MUTE clocking and NIL input clicking are now gone.  Much much better.  Thanks DevTeam for the quick response!
Cheers,
Mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 5 days ago #61927

  • pos
  • pos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 364
  • Thank you received: 206
Hi,
What firmware version are you running?
I updated mine to 1.6 for the DSP and 1.50 for the XMOS and I still have clicks on low level signals.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 5 days ago #61928

  • mikealanlee
  • mikealanlee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi,
The console has been updated with firmware 1.52.  Version 1.50 still has the clicks.  Seemed to lag a bit before asking to update to the new firmware though.  I'm running 1.52.  I'd watch clicking the reset button on the presets with the amps on though.  Had a very loud pop when finishing the reset.  Maybe it's fixed but not something I want to test and verify!
The following user(s) said Thank You: pos

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 5 days ago #61929

  • pos
  • pos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 364
  • Thank you received: 206
Thanks.
You mean xmos firmare right?
Mine is definitly at 1.50, and the console software does not show me any newer version, although the software itself did check for update today (1.0.0 alpha 7)
I guess I will have to wait then :D
 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 5 days ago #61931

  • mikealanlee
  • mikealanlee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 2
That is strange.  Yesterday I think the 1.52 XMOS was up.  If you want I can send you the version in my folder.  Send me a PM on diyaudio "mlee".
The following user(s) said Thank You: pos

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 5 days ago #61932

  • pos
  • pos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 364
  • Thank you received: 206
Thanks for the kind offer!
I will wait a bit and see how things go, and will only bother you if I am still stuck with 1.50 in the coming days.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by pos.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 4 days ago #61933

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Away
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 9110
  • Thank you received: 1412
@Pos

The issue is because you're using one of the Alpha builds that was released to beta testers. :-) 
You need to upgrade to the real builds to get all the latest upgrades. Please uninstall miniDSP DC Alpha version. 

Go to your Flex Eight user downloads to grab the correct build. It will automatically upgrade from there on both Firmware/software. 

Both the mute clicks and restore to default have been solved indeed with XMOS 1.52. 

Devteam
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.
The following user(s) said Thank You: pos, Tony_J

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 4 days ago #61962

  • pos
  • pos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 364
  • Thank you received: 206
Oh that is embarrassing 
Problem solved, thank you @devteam!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flex 8 mute clicking 1 week 3 days ago #62016

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Away
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 9110
  • Thank you received: 1412
Glad to hear that you're all set now! :-) 

Please feel free to contact our support team in the future (support.minidsp.com). They will help clarify any issues you have. 
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1