Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59276

  • jlo
  • jlo's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 7
Hi happy Flex users,
It read that Flex has a total of 4096 taps, limited to 2048 taps per channel at a 96kHz sample rate. This gives some limitation on lowest frequencies correction.
Flex with Dirac seems to runs at 48kHz so can we run and import other FIR corrections at 48kHz ?
The idea is to have one preset with Dirac correction and another preset with a different kind of FIR correction (ie DRC-FIR).

Thanks for any info.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59277

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 2033
  • Thank you received: 403

Hi happy Flex users,
It read that Flex has a total of 4096 taps, limited to 2048 taps per channel at a 96kHz sample rate. This gives some limitation on lowest frequencies correction.
Flex with Dirac seems to runs at 48kHz so can we run and import other FIR corrections at 48kHz ?
The idea is to have one preset with Dirac correction and another preset with a different kind of FIR correction (ie DRC-FIR).

Thanks for any info.

You have a choice of either a Flex without Dirac Live on which you can manually define FIR filters, or a Flex with Dirac Live but without FIR filter capability. You can't have both I'm afraid, even on different presets.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59291

  • Hardingmal
  • Hardingmal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 4
I came to ask the same question. That's pretty sad as I'd like to run some extra phase correction in addition to Dirac. A bit disappointing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59326

  • jlo
  • jlo's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 7
I also find a bit sad that those new products, Flex and SHD, have much less FIR capabilities compared to OpenDRC (6144 taps per channel was nice). I suppose that it is because few people use other FIR software than Dirac.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by jlo.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59332

  • Hardingmal
  • Hardingmal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 4
Yeah it's wasted potential really. Dirac is ace, but with additional FIR we could do even further tuning and take it to the next level.

I'd love to be able to access those extra taps left over in the FIR section too.

Maybe a firmware update could enable it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Hardingmal.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59334

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 2033
  • Thank you received: 403

Yeah it's wasted potential really. Dirac is ace, but with additional FIR we could do even further tuning and take it to the next level.

I'd love to be able to access those extra taps left over in the FIR section too.

Maybe a firmware update could enable it?

I don't think there is any 'wasted potential' here. There is a finite amount of DSP capability, and the same bit which can used for FIR filters is used for Dirac Live instead. I don't believe it's technically possible to use both in the same preset. What might be possible via a firmware change could be the ability to choose whether to use FIR filters or Dirac LIve. I have zero expectation of seeing this though personally.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59364

  • Hardingmal
  • Hardingmal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 4

I don't think there is any 'wasted potential' here. There is a finite amount of DSP capability, and the same bit which can used for FIR filters is used for Dirac Live instead. I don't believe it's technically possible to use both in the same preset. What might be possible via a firmware change could be the ability to choose whether to use FIR filters or Dirac LIve. I have zero expectation of seeing this though personally.

What you're describing here in the last two sentances is already present in the current system, so wouldn't need a firmware update.

You can either use the archive DDRC24 Plugin for Flex with Dirac Live, OR you can use the archive miniDSP 2x4HD/Flex Plugin, which includes 4096 taps of FIR. Switching is pretty fast.

We are just wondering if the unused taps left over when Dirac is running could be given to us to run another two channels of FIR, it seems like a reasonable idea, if someone at Mini DSP can pull it off in an update to the DDRC24 Plugin it'd be a very cool addition.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Hardingmal.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59366

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 2033
  • Thank you received: 403

What you're describing here in the last two sentances is already present in the current system, so wouldn't need a firmware update.
 

No, I was referring to being able to have one preset where Dirac Live is used and another where is isn't. This was the question that started the thread and it isn't currently possible.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59367

  • Hardingmal
  • Hardingmal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 4
Oh yeah that isn't possible. Either way, both would be quite nice additions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59368

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 2033
  • Thank you received: 403

We are just wondering if the unused taps left over when Dirac is running could be given to us to run another two channels of FIR, it seems like a reasonable idea, if someone at Mini DSP can pull it off in an update to the DDRC24 Plugin it'd be a very cool addition.

My point was it's not obvious that there are any unused taps left over when Dirac Live is in use.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Ultrasonic.

Presets with Dirac and other FIR corrections 3 months 1 week ago #59369

  • Hardingmal
  • Hardingmal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 4
I guess the only way to know would be ask the codemasters at MiniDSP!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1