Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
This section is dedicated to showcasing or sharing valuable information about Subwoofer Tuning
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Four subs, Two 15” and two 10” to be calibrated 1 year 4 months ago #50701

• Hortaja
  • Hortaja's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all.

I’m new to MiniDSP and REW but excited to tweak my room. Quick first question. My two 10” Triad Bronze SlimSubs should (per Triad) get a low pass filter at 30 hz. Well this week I wish to calibrate the bass in my room. Meaning Gain match, level match, phase integration, and equalize all subs as one single sub. My only concern is my two front subs are larger and can go much deeper (Power Sound Audio S1500). I have the two 10” on the side walls. Do I just treat them all the same, gain, level, etc, but on my 10" just put the low pass of 30 hz first?

Thank you
Jerry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Four subs, Two 15” and two 10” to be calibrated 1 year 4 months ago #50713

• Ultrasonic
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 309
My gut reaction is to not use the 10" subs at all as I can't seen how you'd be able to meaningfully integrate them with the PSAs due to the wildly greater output capabilities of the latter.

Four subs, Two 15” and two 10” to be calibrated 11 months 3 days ago #54071

• DanE10
Jerry,
That sounds like a good variety of subs for a multi sub array. Given that they are different, you'll need to set eq and gain separately for each, but you'll probably be doing that anyway, especially if they are scattered around the room. There's an excellent thread over at diyaudio, in the subwoofer forum, Multiple Small Subs - Geddes Approach. It's got an good discussion of the methods to calibrate a set of subs.
Dan

Four subs, Two 15” and two 10” to be calibrated 11 months 2 days ago #54072

• Ultrasonic
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member

Jerry,