Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Need help configuring your plug-ins? This is the place to ask the miniDSP community for help. Please read manual first to limit 101 questions.

NOTE: This forum is community powered. Please be mindful that long time community members are here to help as part of a community effort. If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure), please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us). Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community. :-)

TOPIC: IL-DSP DSP configuration protocol over USB

IL-DSP DSP configuration protocol over USB 1 week 2 days ago #43918

• supercurio
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Multidisciplinary software R&D
Hi!

Thanks for making the IL-DSP, I just received mine and I'm really happy:
I've been hoping for this kind of hardware for many years, mostly to compensate for the lack of system-wide EQ on mobile operating systems.

However I'm immediately facing an obvious limitation: a complete lack of mobile devices support on the software side.

Use case: I'll use the USB DAC+DSP mostly on my phone with 3 types of headphones, each needing a different correction.
On desktop? The IL-DSP is not that useful: software correction do the job just fine (eqMac2 on MacOS, my own software on Linux).

Furthermore, I have in the works for some time a mobile app that allows to interactively generate correction parametric EQ biquads, and I was hoping to send use the IL-DSP as target hardware.

Now, there are two main ways to make this possible:
  1. miniDSP opening and documenting the USB protocol used to send and apply filters to the IL-DSP
  2. miniDSP writing a closed, basic Android app sends filter configuration to the IL-DSP over USB, and accepts filter input from external app. Like an automated "import from biquads.txt" functionality

Each approach has pros and cons.