Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.

TOPIC: Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor)

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53716

  • entripy
  • entripy's Avatar
  • Online
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 257
  • Thank you received: 71
  • Karma: 7
1. Reduced refresh rate to protect OLED display.

2. For some SHD device, change on standby mode operation to remove power supply noise when in standby.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53717

  • Aventador_SVJ
  • Aventador_SVJ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
entripy wrote:

2. For some SHD device, change on standby mode operation to remove power supply noise when in standby.

The latest firmware is to be avoided for anybody with the latest SHD, as it results in a ridiculous standby power consumption:

standby = 10.8w, on = 13w when streaming,

PREVIOUS Version of firmware:

standby = 1.3w (buzzes at over 70dB), on = 13w when streaming (no buzz from SHD)
Last Edit: 3 weeks 5 days ago by Aventador_SVJ.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53718

  • asx77
  • asx77's Avatar
  • Online
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 219
  • Thank you received: 19
  • Karma: 2
dbwinter wrote:
standby = 10.8w

Whoa! Might as well not bother turning it off. Have you raised a ticket/reported that?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53719

  • Aventador_SVJ
  • Aventador_SVJ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
asx77 wrote:
dbwinter wrote:
standby = 10.8w

Whoa! Might as well not bother turning it off. Have you raised a ticket/reported that?

Yes
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53723

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1259
  • Thank you received: 208
  • Karma: 27
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
entripy wrote:

2. For some SHD device, change on standby mode operation to remove power supply noise when in standby.

The latest firmware is to be avoided for anybody with the latest SHD, as it results in a ridiculous standby power consumption:

standby = 10.8w, on = 13w when streaming,

PREVIOUS Version of firmware:

standby = 1.3w (buzzes at over 70dB), on = 13w when streaming (no buzz from SHD)

Presumably you're happier now that the buzz has gone though?

I wouldn't be surprised if yours was now behaving similarly to how the older hardware build of SHDs like mine always have with regards to standby power consumption. Well I say 'always' but the standby option was only added via a firmware update last February actually.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53728

  • Aventador_SVJ
  • Aventador_SVJ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
Ultrasonic wrote:
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
entripy wrote:

2. For some SHD device, change on standby mode operation to remove power supply noise when in standby.

The latest firmware is to be avoided for anybody with the latest SHD, as it results in a ridiculous standby power consumption:

standby = 10.8w, on = 13w when streaming,

PREVIOUS Version of firmware:

standby = 1.3w (buzzes at over 70dB), on = 13w when streaming (no buzz from SHD)

Presumably you're happier now that the buzz has gone though?

I wouldn't be surprised if yours was now behaving similarly to how the older hardware build of SHDs like mine always have with regards to standby power consumption. Well I say 'always' but the standby option was only added via a firmware update last February actually.

In reality, I was advised to switch the SHD off whilst I had buzzing.

Now the buzzing is gone, I switch the SHD when not in use as it consumes too much power in standby.

Also, it has introduced an ethernet connection issue when placed in standby and that back 'on' - to establish the ethernet again, I have to switch the power off.

There is a major distortion issue with the device that the SHD replaced (Arcam SA30) and whilst the SHD doesn't have such a major problem, I thought I was moving to a product that just worked.

Perhaps, I'm expecting too much but regardless, I'm feeling very frustrated at the moment.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53730

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1259
  • Thank you received: 208
  • Karma: 27
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
Also, it has introduced an ethernet connection issue when placed in standby and that back 'on' - to establish the ethernet again, I have to switch the power off.

Well that sucks. I might hold off updating mine in case it ended up with the same issue. Assuming it's common I'm sure miniDSP will work on trying to resolve it with a new update fairly soon. For right now I don't think you should stress too much about the power use of just leaving it on all the time to be honest. This used to be the only option and I'd actually personally be a little twitchy about frequent power cycling as it doesn't appear to be possible to shutdown the streamer 'computer' in a controlled way. I've had occasions where it's taken a few power cycles for Volumio to restart properly too although possibly that's just an issue with mine, that could be fixed if the SD card was reflashed.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 5 days ago #53764

  • Randy0223
  • Randy0223's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
entripy wrote:

2. For some SHD device, change on standby mode operation to remove power supply noise when in standby.

The latest firmware is to be avoided for anybody with the latest SHD, as it results in a ridiculous standby power consumption:

standby = 10.8w, on = 13w when streaming,

PREVIOUS Version of firmware:

standby = 1.3w (buzzes at over 70dB), on = 13w when streaming (no buzz from SHD)

How does one determine an SHD version (for lack of a better word)?

I purchased my SHD in mid-November 2020. The shipping box included a label with a date (i.e., 2020/8/14). This label also included a notation..."DDRC-44M Enclosure (New Version)," "PANEL-0023," and the number "11192846."

It would be helpful to know if I should or should not avoid this firmware update.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 4 days ago #53782

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1259
  • Thank you received: 208
  • Karma: 27
Randy0223 wrote:
How does one determine an SHD version (for lack of a better word)?

If you have new hardware you'll have Volumio version 1.073. Anything else and you have the older hardware.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 4 days ago #53787

  • Randy0223
  • Randy0223's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Ultrasonic wrote:
Randy0223 wrote:
How does one determine an SHD version (for lack of a better word)?

If you have new hardware you'll have Volumio version 1.073. Anything else and you have the older hardware.

Thanks for this info. I have ~2,500 albums ripped from CDs/SACDs/DVD-A, BluRay-A/Downloads and play via JRiver. Also ~500 Vinyl LPs. So I've not gotten into web streaming (e.g., Tidal) and by extension have not used Volumio. Accordingly, I have no idea what version Volumio I have (if any). But I'll explore my SHD system and see if this is readily apparent.

Beyond Volumio, is there any way to make a determination of SHD hardware version one may have?

Thanks again.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 4 days ago #53788

  • Ultrasonic
  • Ultrasonic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1259
  • Thank you received: 208
  • Karma: 27
Randy0223 wrote:
Ultrasonic wrote:
Randy0223 wrote:
How does one determine an SHD version (for lack of a better word)?

If you have new hardware you'll have Volumio version 1.073. Anything else and you have the older hardware.

Thanks for this info. I have ~2,500 albums ripped from CDs/SACDs/DVD-A, BluRay-A/Downloads and play via JRiver. Also ~500 Vinyl LPs. So I've not gotten into web streaming (e.g., Tidal) and by extension have not used Volumio. Accordingly, I have no idea what version Volumio I have (if any). But I'll explore my SHD system and see if this is readily apparent.

Beyond Volumio, is there any way to make a determination of SHD hardware version one may have?

Thanks again.

There's no need to look for an alternative to Volumio. You DEFINITELY have it. Go to Settings, System and then scroll down till you see the Volumio version.

Edit: you'll need a network connection to your SHD to access Volumio I suppose, which possibly you don't currently have set up?
Last Edit: 3 weeks 4 days ago by Ultrasonic.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 4 days ago #53790

  • Randy0223
  • Randy0223's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Ultrasonic wrote:
Randy0223 wrote:
Ultrasonic wrote:
Randy0223 wrote:
How does one determine an SHD version (for lack of a better word)?

If you have new hardware you'll have Volumio version 1.073. Anything else and you have the older hardware.

Thanks for this info. I have ~2,500 albums ripped from CDs/SACDs/DVD-A, BluRay-A/Downloads and play via JRiver. Also ~500 Vinyl LPs. So I've not gotten into web streaming (e.g., Tidal) and by extension have not used Volumio. Accordingly, I have no idea what version Volumio I have (if any). But I'll explore my SHD system and see if this is readily apparent.

Beyond Volumio, is there any way to make a determination of SHD hardware version one may have?

Thanks again.

There's no need to look for an alternative to Volumio. You DEFINITELY have it. Go to Settings, System and then scroll down till you see the Volumio version.

Edit: you'll need a network connection to your SHD to access Volumio I suppose, which possibly you don't currently have set up?

Very helpful. I connected to Volumio. The version installed was V1.062. I was able to update to V1.076. As there was no option for a V1.073 I have to assume I have the "older hardware." I must have had one of the last units shipped prior to release of the Version with an improved DAC as reviewed by AMIRM at Audio Science Review... www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.p...-dac-streamer.18681/

Kind of disappointing but not a major concern.

Thanks again for your assistance.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 1 day ago #53877

  • notman
  • notman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 42
  • Thank you received: 17
  • Karma: 0
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
In reality, I was advised to switch the SHD off whilst I had buzzing.

Now the buzzing is gone, I switch the SHD when not in use as it consumes too much power in standby.

Also, it has introduced an ethernet connection issue when placed in standby and that back 'on' - to establish the ethernet again, I have to switch the power off.

There is a major distortion issue with the device that the SHD replaced (Arcam SA30) and whilst the SHD doesn't have such a major problem, I thought I was moving to a product that just worked.

Perhaps, I'm expecting too much but regardless, I'm feeling very frustrated at the moment.

@Aventador — let us know if you hear something from miniDSP over email on this issue. If I end up on the new hardware I could probably live with the power consumption but the ethernet thing is an obvious dealbreaker. I’m wondering if you just got a bum unit or they need to fix the v1.25 firmware altogether. Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rev 1.15 / FW 1.25 / 26 Jan 2021 (minor) 3 weeks 23 hours ago #53880

  • Aventador_SVJ
  • Aventador_SVJ's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
notman wrote:
Aventador_SVJ wrote:
In reality, I was advised to switch the SHD off whilst I had buzzing.

Now the buzzing is gone, I switch the SHD when not in use as it consumes too much power in standby.

Also, it has introduced an ethernet connection issue when placed in standby and that back 'on' - to establish the ethernet again, I have to switch the power off.

There is a major distortion issue with the device that the SHD replaced (Arcam SA30) and whilst the SHD doesn't have such a major problem, I thought I was moving to a product that just worked.

Perhaps, I'm expecting too much but regardless, I'm feeling very frustrated at the moment.

@Aventador — let us know if you hear something from miniDSP over email on this issue. If I end up on the new hardware I could probably live with the power consumption but the ethernet thing is an obvious dealbreaker. I’m wondering if you just got a bum unit or they need to fix the v1.25 firmware altogether. Thanks.

My power supply is being replaced.

I haven't had confirmation that they will update the firmware but expect they will. The previous version of firmware appear to have no ethernet issues or high standby power (just buzzing).

My first impressions of MiniDSP in just over 2 weeks of ownership is that they take responsibility for problems and are very actively trying to improve their devices.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ultrasonic
Moderators: devteam