Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This forum is community powered. Please be mindful that long time community members are here to help as part of a community effort. If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure), please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us). Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community. :-)

TOPIC: Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 1 month 6 hours ago #31954

  • drawbars
  • drawbars's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 0
I have a small keyboard amp that doesn't quite cut it for outdoor gigs, so I built a subwoofer that produces a whole mess of low end, and use the built-in DSP of the keyboard amp to create a pseudo crossover at 120Hz. The end result exceeded my expectations: I now have an ungodly loud, absolutely hi-fi sound reinforcement system that hides in a pair of Vox AC30-size cabinets -- plus the main amplifier, a Crown XTi1000. I like the results of the PWR-ICE sub so much that I'm considering replacing the external amp with another PWR-ICE250, simplifying the setup, and probably dropping a little weight in the process. One wrinkle, though ...

I use the XTi1000 in three different modes:
  1. Stereo amp with a bass boost of +6dB/oct at 90Hz, to compensate for the response of the small speaker cabinet.
  2. Stereo amp with a roll-off at 65Hz for bass-heavy rooms.
  3. Stereo mid-high amp crossed at 120Hz, coupled to the subwoofer, for really loud requirements (a.k.a. 'outdoors').

In theory, the PWR-ICE2 can have four configurations -- EQ, xover, etc. -- but if I read things correctly, that's all in the virtual world. The amp is only loaded with one configuration at a time, right? Is there any easy way to change configurations on the fly, without having to plug in a CAT5 cable and boot up the SW app?

Regards,
-BW
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 2 days ago #31958

  • john.reekie
  • john.reekie's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 2662
  • Thank you received: 1086
  • Karma: 111
There are four configs stored in the amp, but AFAIK you do need to be connected via the plugin to switch between them. There was some talk of the iOS/Android app being used to control the PWR-ICE amps but I don't think it's happened yet.
I am not miniDSP support.

"You must ask the right questions." - Dr. Alfred Lanning's hologram.
-> Have you read the User Manual??
-> Have you drawn and posted a diagram?
-> Have you posted a screenshot?
-> Have you posted your config file?
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: devteam

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 2 days ago #31960

  • drawbars
  • drawbars's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 0
Thanks for the reply. That's kind of a shame, but I usually have a laptop on the gig, so an Auto-IP connection would do.

I'm not sure an Android/iOS app is going to be all that better, since the PWR-ICE250 uses wired Ethernet connection. That forces one to have some kind of a dongle handy, or a wireless router. That's a lot of pieces and parts to keep track of.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: john.reekie

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 2 days ago #31961

  • john.reekie
  • john.reekie's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 2662
  • Thank you received: 1086
  • Karma: 111
True, for the mobile app you would need to set up a wired+wireless network... not that convenient.
I am not miniDSP support.

"You must ask the right questions." - Dr. Alfred Lanning's hologram.
-> Have you read the User Manual??
-> Have you drawn and posted a diagram?
-> Have you posted a screenshot?
-> Have you posted your config file?
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: devteam

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 14 hours ago #32003

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5648
  • Thank you received: 692
  • Karma: 130
Will need to check with the engineers but I believe that the app now online does support the PWR-iCE. Will need to confirm. It should also support linking of more than one.

We did a custom firmware that allowed source selection + preset selection from the rear panel (using the reset button).
Maybe worth for us to see in the future if we can release it in few weeks when dust settles from new products. :-)

DevTeam
MiniDSP, building a DIY DSP community one board at a time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 13 hours ago #32021

  • drawbars
  • drawbars's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 0
devteam wrote:
We did a custom firmware that allowed source selection + preset selection from the rear panel (using the reset button). Maybe worth for us to see in the future if we can release it in few weeks when dust settles from new products. :-)

DevTeam

That would be VERY interesting! I actually was thinking, "I wonder if there is some kind of 'secret handshake' that allows the Config to change through the Reset button?" the other day ...

Regards,
-BW
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Selecting different EQs on a PWR-ICE amp 4 weeks 13 hours ago #32023

  • drawbars
  • drawbars's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 10
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 0
By the way, I was trying to connect my PWR-ICE250 to my 'gigging' laptop, which is an old XP machine that has been stripped of unused bits, and I ran across an interesting situation: I connected it up directly to the laptop (no router). I could see the PWR-ICE in the application, and it even got the custom name right, but when I tried to connect it would fail. I tried it multiple times, no luck. Is there other network software that needs to be added in WinXP?

Regards,
-BW
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.101 seconds