Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

NOTE: This is a "Community" forum. Please be mindful that community members are here to help as part of a community effort. We therefore appreciate your effort in keeping this forum a happy place!

If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure) and want help from our support team, please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us).
Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community.

TOPIC: Feeding two NANODIGI with one OPEN DRC DI

Feeding two NANODIGI with one OPEN DRC DI 8 months 1 week ago #44847

• IAFRATE
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello,

I am a novice (A real "nut" in fact) in the digital world and I need advice.
I have a pair of speakers (four ways five loudspeakers each) separate by 7 meters.

I need to put the filtering process close to the speakers, and the main volume control and room treatment process ideally in the middle

My questions :
- Do you think i can use an OPENDRC DI feeding (with Toslink fiber) two NANODIGIs (One for Left speaker the other for right)

- I will enter 16 bits 44,1 Khz SPDIF in the OPEN DRC and I hope AES/EBU output format will be 24 bits 96 khz. Is it possible ?

- If yes, what will be the maximum possible attenuation of the main volume before numeric destruction? 24-16=8 bits => 48dB, am I right ?
Do you think it's enough ?

BR
René
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Feeding two NANODIGI with one OPEN DRC DI 7 months 3 weeks ago #45118

• devteam
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 1123
@René

Not a problem for your setup indeed. You can do that configuration to use the SPDIF out from the OpenDRC to both nanoDIGI (Splitter)
Output is indeed 24/96kHz and volume control is done on a 32bit variable inside the DSP.

Devteam
miniDSP, building a DSP community one board at a time.

Feeding two NANODIGI with one OPEN DRC DI 5 months 3 weeks ago #46039

• Richard
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 71
IAFRATE wrote: