Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
NOTE: This forum is community powered. Please be mindful that long time community members are here to help as part of a community effort. If you have a specific issue (e.g. hardware, failure), please use our tech support portal (Support menu - > Contact Us). Thanks a lot of your help in making a better community. :-)
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time?

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16189

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 2
I just received my nanoAVR with Dirac Live today. Is it okay to keep it plugged-in(turned on) all the time, or should I unplug it when I'm not using it?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16202

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5108
  • Thank you received: 632
  • Karma: 119
Hi,

Great to hear you got your new toy.. :-)
Yes, it's indeed very low iddle current and designed as such to be on at all times.

DevTeam
MiniDSP, building a DIY DSP community one board at a time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16204

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Matt, tell us how you like it. :->

I'm thinking of getting one dependent on how well it's working. :-)

Btw, dev team, it would be great to use the same unit with either Dirac or your normal nanoavr plug-in dependent on our needs. :-)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16207

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 2
So far I am loving it!!! It's pretty amazing what Dirac can do. I have noticed something unusual, but it may just be the way the nanoAVR normally functions. I have a 7.1 speaker configuration. My nanoAVR is in between my sony blu-Ray player and outlaw model 975 surround sound processor (ssp). With the nanoAVR in the chain it is CONSTANTLY outputting PCM 7.1 to my ssp even though my ssp is outputting the correct number of channels (2.0, 5.1, 7.1 etc.). Sound comes out only when a source is playing which is normal. But even when a source is not playing my ssp is still showing that it's receiving a PCM 7.1 signal. This is fine except with 2.0 and 5.1 signals I cannot add any post processing such as Dolby pl IIx, because my ssp is seeing 7.1.

Development Team, is this normal behavior for the nanoAVR DL?
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by matty1137. Reason: I left out important information.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16209

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
The desktop version works the same way and it's a little annoying since you need to configure profiles for 2.0, 5.1 and 7.1. It takes up 3 slots by default. Guys, can you work something out with dirac? :D
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16210

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 2
I feel better knowing that is how the desktop version works also. So, I would have to run the Dirac measurements again but this time choosing my speaker layout as 2.0 and then 5.1? I would then save each configuration in it's own slot, and then choose the 5.1 config for 5.1 sources and 2.0 config for 2.0 sources?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16214

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Yes, that's correct. It's not ideal but a good workaround. Again, desktop version works the same. I think we should start raising this on the dirac forums also to let them know we'd at least like the option, thanks! :P
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16220

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 2
Agreed!
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by matty1137. Reason: clarification
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16234

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5108
  • Thank you received: 632
  • Karma: 119
@ Matty1137,

Great to hear that you're already up and running! We look forward to hearing more of your feedback. Here are some comments:
- 7.1 forced output. You're indeed correct that it's something that the nanoAVR is doing. Mainly to allow some of you to "upmix" content internally. i.e. derive some phantom channels that are not part of the content using matrixing. Now that's something that I believe we could disable (i.e. as an option). Let us talk to the engineer to see what's required here.
- Dirac deals with each speaker separately so don't think it would be an issue to do what you're asking here.

@ J19801110 (nice user name btw... ;-)
Sure, you can indeed load the miniDSP plug-in or Dirac. It's all possible. We're now putting together the tools to "program" a nanoAVR HD to become a nanoAVR DL. A bit of work behind the scenes since it needs licensing key but will hopefully come out soon. Thanks for your patience.

DevTeam
MiniDSP, building a DIY DSP community one board at a time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16237

  • matty1137
  • matty1137's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 12
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 2
DevTeam,

Thanks so much for the quick reply. Yes, indeed, I am having so much fun with my new nanoAVR DL so far! It's an amazing product. This has been my first experience with miniDSP, and I am extremely pleased. And actually, now that I think about it, having forced 7.1 output is probably the best way to go. Let's just leave things the way they are.
Last Edit: 2 years 1 month ago by matty1137. Reason: clarification
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: devteam

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16244

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Hi devteam,

I don't think there is any matrixing going on in the nanoavr itself. If you force 7.1 output and we only feed it 5.1, it will have two channels that are empty AND our receivers won't allow us to do upmixing using a by matrixing since it thinks the extra channels are already there. At least that's what's been frustrating with Dirac Live for me. Please let me know if the nanoavr works differently but I doubt it.

Thanks,
RJ

Ps. Ah that name stuck with me from my first email address. Family initial plus birthdate. :D
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16247

  • devteam
  • devteam's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5108
  • Thank you received: 632
  • Karma: 119
@ Matty1137,

Thanks again for the update and we're certainly glad to hear you're having fun. New add on of the week, we've just released the Android APP for control of your platform from your phone/tablet.. :-) It's free for download from here: play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.minidsp.minidsp

@ RJ,
We see your point and there is indeed a Matrix mixer, just not seen to all.. ;-) You're right that this behavior is actually carried over from the nanoAVR HD (same hardware/firmware). As mentioned above, we can see in the future to change that behavior in the HDMI configuration. Best would be a toggle button to say if you want to force output or not. Thanks for feedback.

DevTeam
MiniDSP, building a DIY DSP community one board at a time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16254

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Hi devteam,

REALLY? :O you guys are doing proper upmixing like dolby pro logic? That would be very cool if that's true. What algorithm are you using? In any case it is good to have the choice. :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16255

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Oh I just had a look. It's a simple channel routing that on,y includes "addition" but no "subtraction" of channels. It would allow copying surround channels to the back surrounds and I guess some simple up mixing of stereo signals. It cannot do steering like dolby pro logic tho. :) ah well. Yes please give us the option to turn it off, thx. :D
The administrator has disabled public write access.

nanoAVR DL is it okay to keep on all the time? 2 years 1 month ago #16358

  • J19801110
  • J19801110's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Devteam, how is the matrix up mixer configured on the dl? There is nothing in the manual about it. Are you sure it's operating on the dl and if so, how?

THX
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.148 seconds