miniDSP DDRC-88BM review (Oct 2016)

When Wayne Myers takes on the task of reviewing a product, you know he will take the time to dig deep every single features of the product! Here again, we're very fortunate to see an inside out review of the benefits of the DDRC-88A + Bass management plugin. Check it out!

Once in awhile you come across a piece of audio gear that acts as nothing short of a Value Multiplier for your system. The miniDSP DDRC-88A with Dirac Live plus BM firmware and plugin for Bass Management is a Value Multiplier if I ever heard one, Approach it with patience, Get to know its capabilities. Adopt it into your audio gear family with care, and it will reward you with refined soundstage, imaging, impact, clarity, and detail that might just kick your system’s asset level right into the extreme envy category. Count on the perceived value to be multiplied at least several times. Don’t fall in love, your 88BM is just a box of electronics. Do prepare to be spoiled, though, that much is unavoidable. And don’t feel guilty about the envy of your audio buddies, send them a link to the miniDSP site, there are plenty of 88BMs to go around''

Wayne Myers @ HomeTheaterShack

hometheatershackheaderlogo

miniDSP 2x4HD Calibration System (Oct 2016)

John Sciacca takes us through the steps of tuning his room with a 2x4HD with the help of REW + UMIK-1

''This is certainly no substitute for taking an audio calibration course such as those offered by the Home Acoustics Alliance. However, this is a terrific way to get your feet wet in audio calibrations for a minimal investment, add a justifiable “audio calibration” line item to your installs, and leave a client’s home with measured proof that you have made their system sound as good as possible in their room.''

John Sciacca from Residential Systems

resi systems logo 300x127

By far on the largest AV/HT community. we're honored to see lead reviewer Mark Henninger take the time to put our products through the paces! Check out the lengthy reviews from Mark on both the nanoAVR and DDRC-88A, you'll learn a lot!

DDRC-88A review (Aug 2015)

When I listen to the system with Dirac Live and then switch to MCACC Pro, I'm reminded of why my first encounter with Dirac was so memorable. It elevates the whole system, much more so than any other $1000 investment I can think of—as long as you've already got some good gear. The effect of a room is an overwhelming element in any system. The degree to which Dirac Live takes the room out of the equation sets it apart from any room-correction system I've heard in the past. I consider it a must-have.

Mark Henninger from AVSForum

nanoAVR HD review (April 2015)

I'm really excited about adding a nanoAVR to my AV system; it represents a significant upgrade when compared with the EQ capabilities of my Pioneer Elite SC-55 AVR. Specifically, it allows me to set custom crossover points for my front and rear speakers. It also vastly improves upon my Pioneer's built-in EQ capabilities.

Mark Henninger from AVSForum

avsforum logo

 

miniDSP 10x10HD (Jan 2014)

We're really proud to see the miniDSP 10x10 receiving an extensive review from Kalman Rubinson on Stereophile magazine! Put to the test for the equalization of his 5.1 surround sound setup, Kalman goes indepth on the use of REW, speaker and room tuning. A must read!

...the miniDSP 10x10Hd gave me the tools to do what I want in order to get the sound that I want. The 10x10Hd makes it easy to look under the hood of room EQ.

Kalman Rubinson from Stereophile.com

nanoAVR HD (Jul 2014)

Kal Rubinson keeps pushing the limit of our platforms with yet another complete review of his experience with the nanoAVR in his budget equipment review.

I can now highly recommend the miniDSP nanoAVR 8x8 for use with high-end pre-pros that lack EQ or have limited or inadequate EQ.

Kalman Rubinson from Stereophile.com

Stereophile logo

The HomeTheaterShack community and the great team behind it goes at great length to review products. Check out these extensive reviews of the platforms.

DDRC-88A review (Oct 2016)

Once in a while you come across a piece of audio gear that acts as nothing short of a Value Multiplier for your system. The miniDSP DDRC-88A with Dirac Live plus BM firmware and plugin for Bass Management is a Value Multiplier if I ever heard one, Approach it with patience, Get to know its capabilities. Adopt it into your audio gear family with care, and it will reward you with refined soundstage, imaging, impact, clarity, and detail that might just kick your system’s asset level right into the extreme envy category.

Wayne Myers from HomeTheaterShack

nanoAVR DL review (June 2015)

I simply have to say my experience reviewing these products has been one of the most positive I have had to date. This is simply a phenomenal product, and, where it fits one's system configuration needs, I can think of no reason it should not be at or near the top of any serious listener's purchase list, if they do not have one already

Wayne Myers from HomeTheaterShack

nanoAVR HD review (Aug 2014)

The nanoAVR HD is a dynamite offering from the miniDSP team, and gets my full recommendation...

Wayne Myers from HomeTheaterShack

DDRC-22D review (Jul 2014)

I can enthusiastically recommend the miniDSP DDRC-22D as a truly Pro-Level DRC offering

Wayne Myers from HomeTheaterShack

hometheatershackheaderlogo

The monthly magazine AudioXpress is a well known reference for many audio engineers, manufacturers and speaker builders. We are proud to see two of main authors talking about their experience with the miniDSP 2x4 and DDRC-24.

DDRC-24 review (Dec 2016)

In his fascinating series “Room Correction Revisited: Part 6,” Ron Tipton reviews the new miniDSP DDRC-24, a recently introduced USB DAC+DSP Digital Room Correction versatile stereo processor powered by Dirac Live. This is now the world’s smallest Dirac Live hardware processor, making room correction available in a compact hardware unit.

''The DDRC-24 and the UMIK-1 package is currently priced at 525USD plug shipping from Hong Kong. Although no inexpensive, it is on the best ways I've found to listen to excellently processed stereo music from all my sources."

Ron Tipton from AudioXpress.com

miniDSP 2x4 in a stereo system (April 2016)

Claude Goeuriot takes us through the steps of building  a complete stereo system in a box, including preamp + DSP + amplifiers. Well worth reading!

''The MiniDSP 2×4 is a flexible and simple way to design a crossover. It is so flexible that you are always tempted to continually retune the system. Freeware such as REW or ADC (which I tested but did not use for this project) is available to precisely equalize the drivers and the complete loudspeaker. So, now it is time to stop writing and spend time listening to music.''

Claude Goeuriot from AudioXpress.com

audioxpress review

miniDSP 2x4 Balanced (March 2016)

In this great article, Gene goes at great length to optimize the Audioholics Showcase theater room by tuning multiple subs. A great review complemented by measurements and a youtube video. Make sure to check it out!

Bass nirvana was finally achieved in the Audioholics Showcase theater room system through multi-sub plus equalization through the mDSP device. I now have smooth, even, tight, extended bass for EVERY SEAT, not just a couple of preferred seats.

Gene DellaSala from Audioholics.com

audioholics reviews

John Reekie from HifiZine.com couldn't summarize in better details the steps involved in setting up a miniDSP system for a wide range of applications! From subwoofer tuning to 4way crossover, his detailed reviews take the time to explain the complete process from setup to measurement of the system, including diagrams and measurement results. For more info, have a look at HifiZine website at the following links: 

miniDSP 2x4 for Subwoofer equalization

miniDSP 2x4 for 4way Open Baffle project: Part 1 , Part 2

miniDSP 2x8 product review

PWR-ICE for the miniConvertible

nanoAVR HD review

hifizine

DDRC-22A (Aug 2014)

Although you might need to brush up your French to understand the original version, this review obviously took some great effort to summarize the whole miniDSP Dirac Live experience! Great work from the French team @ Audiophonics and reviewer reviewer Jeff Blackman(Jacko).
PS: French is certainly useful to get your way around south of France so feel free to learn it, but Google translate is doing a good job too! :-)

The DDRC-22A is a serious product that opens up the possibility of adding an active acoustic correction performance in any stereo audio system in good order and without breaking the bank.

Jeff from HDFever.fr

nanoAVR DL (Jan 2015)

It takes a lot of energy and effort to write a review as extensive as the one Jeff did for the nanoAVR. Certainly worth your time reading, though once again you might need to brush up your French first... :-) Make sure to use Google translate first.

The NanoAVR DL is a pretty amazing product. Surprising, because given its small size and simplified design, it achieves performance of the highest level. Compete and surpass the Audyssey XT32 is no small feat. MiniDSP again demonstrates they know DSP with this powerful acoustic correction system

Jeff from HDFever.fr

logo2

It's an honour to see Pat Brown from Synaudcon (www.synaudcon.com) using the OpenDRC + rephase + REW for a comprehensive review of the influence of FIR filters! His review is available on Prosoundweb.com and goes through a real life scenario of the advantage/limitations of FIR along with speaker design. A must read!

index

For more info on Synaudcon and the great learning/training sessions, make sure to check out their website.

synaudcon

After meeting each other at CES 2011, Andrew Robinson from HomeTheater took the opportunity to review the miniDSP 2x4 unit. Initially wondering what this little box was about, Andrew quickly picked up the pace to put the miniDSP at use in his system. By giving it an overall 4.5 star out of 5, I guess that Andrew enjoyed our affordable DSP! A complete review of the miniDSP 2x4 product is now available on HomeTheater Review website at the following link.

HomeTheaterReview

 HTReview